About Us

The Public Health Concern Trust, Nepal (phect-NEPAL) is a secular, non-political, not-for-profit, national level non-government organization committed to health development. It was founded in 1991 and is governed by an independent Executive Board. In addition, it is supported by a multidisciplinary expert advisory team. phect-NEPAL is registered with the District Administration Office, Kathmandu and affiliated to the Social Welfare Council Nepal. The phect-NEPAL constitution is the principal guiding document of the organization.


Despite the progress in development made in Nepal in recent decades, life remains well below a satisfactory level for the majority of Nepalese people. Arguably, mismanagement and irrational distribution of resources has grossly marginalized most of the population, reducing the capacity for average individuals to meet their basic needs. With the introduction of parliamentary democracy to Nepal in 1990, there were rising expectations that the quality of life and general health would be improved. A clear vision of development would have enabled the government to initiate planning and action to move in this direction, however the government was not adequately prepared. Therefore there was a need for non-governmental organizations to step in to act as a partner of national development. For this reason, phect-NEPAL came into existence in 1991.

Empowerment of people through health action.



Recognizing that HEALTH is the individual's ability to achieve, enjoy and maintain a harmonic relationship with his/her being and nature at large, the MISSION of phect-NEPAL is to build a society with healthy people. The direction of phect-NEPAL is guided by the philosophy of Empowerment of people through health action, and therefore phect-NEPAL aims to create a model of sustainable health care system based on principles of equity, social justice, people's participation and self reliance. Thus, having evolved over more than two decades, phect-NEPAL is taking the shape of a movement rather than a mere organization. .


• Clinical and Diagnostic Services
• Community Health Programs
• Advocacy
• Academic Programs
• Research
• Networking


Dr. Bharat Pradhan
Dr. Saroj Dhital
Mr. Suman Shrestha
Board of Directors
Chairman: Mr. Madan Krishna Shrestha
Vice Chairman: Mr. Hari Bansha Acharya
Executive Director: Dr. Bharat Pradhan
Treasurer: Mr. Suman Shrestha
Member: Dr. Saroj Dhital
Member: Dr. Roshan Lal Shrestha
Member: Dr. Rajesh Dhoj Joshi
Member: Dr. Shambhu Kumar Upadhyay
Member: Mr. Durga Lal Shrestha
Member: Mr. Gauri Pradhan